Rock in my Pocket

Every educator has a rock or rocks in their pocket. That student who has left a mark on your life. That student for me was someone who reminded me a lot of myself at their age. Loud, funny and never knew when to stop talking. Very disruptive! I liked her! She challenged my classroom management but also infused my lessons with her intelligence and candor. She frustrated the hell out of me most times but had a wittiness that made me shake my head and smile. The class clown. She came from a home life that was isolating and felt safe when she was with me. At times I could not get rid of her! On the outside she was not likeable to many teachers but I saw and felt the good that was inside her. I connected with her and to this day still check in to see how she is doing. She was my rock in my pocket, the lesson and experience I still go back to for guidance.


Leave a comment